Resource center

Positive pay dual approval on check upload

10/30/20

Positive pay dual approval on single check and check file uploads

Positive Pay allows for dual approval on issued checks. The dual authorization can be applied to checks that are uploaded in an issue file and/or single check entry. There are various entitlement options that can be configured to meet client security needs including giving some users full access to upload without requiring approval, and other users requiring an approver for their uploads. Users can also have the ability to both upload and approve other user’s files, but not their own.

How does it work?

After the option has been configured, the following steps occur when a user uploads a check or file that requires dual approval:

The user logs in and uploads the file or check. The file/check is in a Pending Approval status.

An email is sent to all users with approval access informing them that a file is ready for approval.

A user with approval access logs in and can approve or reject the file/check by going to the Issued Check File Processing Log screen under Transaction Reports.

The input date should be the current day, then click Search

The file/check will be listed on the screen. Select the line item

A box will open up that displays the contents of the file/check that was uploaded. There are options to either Deny or Approve the file/item.


If the file/check is Denied, the Status will change to Approval Denied.

If the file/check is approved, the Status will change to Approved and within seconds will be processed. After the file is processed, it changes to a Processed status.


As soon as the file/check has been approved or denied, an email is sent to the user who uploaded the file/check and to all users with approval access notifying them of the action taken.

What happens if the file is not approved by end of day?

  1. If the file/check is not approved or denied that same day, it is purged overnight.
  2. An email is sent to the user who uploaded the file/check and to all users with approval access notifying them that the file/check was purged.
  3. The user must upload the file/check again to reinitiate the approval process.

Please contact your Relationship Manager if you are interested in enabling this feature.